What are chakras?

Chakra Balancing

Chakras are centres of energy in the body.

"There are seven main chakras which are located on the midline of the body"

Imbalance in the chakras leads to disharmony and discomfort.

It helps to:

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel, or vortex, and it refers to each of the seven energy centers of which our consciousness, our energy system, is composed.

The chakras are not physical. They are aspects of consciousness in the same way that the auras are aspects of consciousness. They interact with the physical body through two major vehicles, the endocrine system and the nervous system. Each of the seven chakras is associated with one of the seven endocrine glands, and also with a group of nerves called a plexus.

Chakra Endocrine Gland Colour Location
Crown Pineal Gland Violet Top of the head
Thrid eye/brow Pituitary Indigo Centre of the forehead
Throat Thyroid Blue Base of throat
Heart Thymus Green Centre of the chest
Solar Plexus Pancreas Yellow Solar plexus
Sacral The Gondas Orange Centre of the abdomen
Root/Base Adrenal Glands Red Point between anus and sex organs

Crown Chakra is about wisdom and being one with the world. When this chakra is open, one is unprejudiced and quite aware of the world and oneself. If under-active, one is not very aware of spirituality but probably quite rigid in one's thinking. If over-active, one is probably intellectualizing things too much. One may be addicted to spirituality and is probably ignoring one's bodily needs.

Third Eye Chakra is about insight and visualization. When it is open, one has a good intuition. One may tend to fantasize. If under-active, one is not very good at thinking for oneself, and may tend to rely on authorities. One may be rigid in one's thinking, relying on beliefs too much and might even get confused easily. If over-active, one may live in a world of fantasy too much. In excessive cases hallucinations are possible.

Throat Chakra is about self-expression and talking. When open, one has no problems expressing oneself, and might be doing so as an artist. If under-active, one tends not to speak much, and one probably is introverted and shy. Not speaking the truth may block this chakra. If over-active, one tends to speak too much, usually to domineer and keep people at a distance and is a bad listener.

Heart Chakra is about love, kindness and affection. When open, one is compassionate and friendly, and one works at harmonious relationships. When under-active, one is cold and distant. If over-active, one is suffocating people with one's love and that love probably has quite selfish reasons.

Solar Plexus Chakra is about asserting oneself in a group. When it is open, one feels in control and has sufficient self esteem. When under-active, one tends to be passive and indecisive and probably timid and don't get what one wants. If over-active, one is domineering and probably even aggressive.

Sacral Chaka is about feeling and sexuality. When open, one's feelings flow freely, and are expressed without being over-emotional. One is open to intimacy and is passionate and lively with no problems in dealing with one's sexuality. If under-active one tends to be stiff and unemotional or has a "poker face" and not very open to people. If over-active, you one tends to be emotional all the time. One feels emotionally attached to people and can be very sexual.

Root Chakra is about being physically there and feeling at home in situations. If open, one feels grounded, stable and secure. One does not unnecessarily distrust people. One feels present in the here and now and connected to one's physical body and feels one has sufficient territory. If under-active, one tends to be fearful or nervous and easily feel unwelcome. If over-active, one may be very materialistic, greedy and probably obsessed with being secure and resist change.